OnePlus Changes Tech Industry…With a $50 discount

OnePlus-Time-To-Change

Apparently a $50 discount on a mediocre phone is industry changing, according to OnePlus anyway. Last week OnePlus sent out media invites to a June 1 event, where they claimed they would “shake up the tech industry.” I predicted in my previous articles that their announcement would probably be something fairly lame like a small discount to their current phone, the One. OnePlus announced a small discount of $50 to both models of the One. You can now get the 32GB Silk White version of the One for $249, or the 64GB Sandstone Black version for $299.

Of course, as with everything from OnePlus, this is a limited time offer with specific time windows you must obey to get the discount. The sale only runs June 1 through June 7, with the following additional time restrictions:

  • June 1 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST)
  • June 2 – 2:00 GMT (10 pm EST -1 day)
  • June 3 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST)
  • June 4 – 2:00 GMT (10 pm EST -1 day)
  • June 5 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST)
  • June 6 – 2:00 GMT (10 pm EST -1 day)
  • June 7 – 12:00 GMT (8 am EST)

Thankfully, you don’t need to perform any juggling tricks or beg for an invite, but the restrictions are still annoying. The device itself is really solid for $249, and would make a great backup phone. I tied the One when it released last year, and while I enjoyed the phone, I’m not the biggest fan of the company or their PR practices. Claiming that a $50 price drop is “industry changing” is a bit of hyperbole, to put it nicely. The OnePlus 2 is still scheduled to drop Q3 2015, so we should hear something about that phone sooner than later. In the meantime, take a look at some comments from OnePlus co-founder Carl Pei on the OnePlus 2 invite system. Is anyone picking up the discounted One? Are you waiting and excited for the OnePlus 2?

HighOnAndroid Facebook Page <--- If you like this post, please Like Our Facebook Page Here, thx!

Want to contact me?
Add me on:
GooglePlus
Facebook
Twitter

Jeff Springer

"I am currently a researcher and Adjunct Professor at Arizona State University and Grand Canyon University. I fell in love with Android with the Nexus One release and realized that it was superior to iOS in all the ways I care about. I still use a Mac (and an iPhone for the camera), but my Apple tech products pale in comparison to my number of Android devices (watches, tablets, and phones). When I’m not rooting/modding one of my many Android phones or doing math/programming, you can find me taking in Phoenix Suns/Arizona Diamondbacks games in downtown Phoenix, and drinking good beer!"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *